Tags

, , , ,


“I am yours… It’s both as dramatic and as simple as that.” – Jack Morgan

They say, once you go Jack, you never go back. Or was it something else? Hmmm, not sure, but I still have to say: I’D GO JACK ANY DAY OF THE WEEK! And no, I’m not talking about the whiskey…

Jack Morgan is on his way to make sure that the people of a Bolivian village can have their Christmas on time despite their third-world lives, when he stumbles upon a wall of… feathers! Before he knows it, Sarah Phimm is tossed into his life and mission – and he’s sure he wants her right where she is. But Sarah has a secret of her own. She is his guardian angel, and being seen by her human client is NOT allowed. Nor is wanting him in a very unangelic way what a respectable guardian angel should be doing. Problem is, this little taste of imperfection has her not sure of what is right anymore. Now, Jack and his angel must rush to save Christmas for those who need them the most – and savor what little of time they have left before Sarah is called back to Nether-Netherland to get fired.

While Midwinter Magic may not look like much at first glance, it is certainly something not to be missed. A certain delight to read during the holidays, I tell you. Jack and Sarah were an adorable and very funny couple. He was hilarious where she was sarcastic, and she was sweet where he was loving. If there was one thing to describe this couple, it would be “Divine”.

Jack was a great main hero. One of the few billionaires I didn’t hate on sight. It had nothing to do with his charity work, and everything to do with his witty humor and childish nature. Though he could have been more understanding of Sarah’s position – still, this just proves how much of a human he is, flawed and yet perfect in his own imperfect way.

Sarah, on the other hand, was the epitome of “poor angel, I so pity you right now”. Her human client is one risky idiot, alright, and she ends up breaking each and every rule to make sure he stays safe and happy. Despite her prim and proper attitude, she was a real fireckracker, and she kept up with Jack no matter the pace. As her human observed, she was playful and caring, and the one who truly needed Christmas the most. It was nice to see her evolve from the spectator to the woman she became through her love for Jack.

This would have been a perfect book if not for a slight, minor problem. While I understand that it’s impossible to drag scenes on when it comes to romance in literature, I still wasn’t satisfied with the way Jack accepted Sarah so easily as a part of his life. I mean, you don’t have to drag the first meeting on, but a little more pushing away or suspicion towards the motives of this beautiful stranger coming out of nowhere with all the solutions to your problems and willing to spend her time “fixing roofs” with you is, I believe, in order.  Just saying…

All in all, this was a nice quick read, perfect to spread the holiday spirit. I’m certainly anxious to see what will happen afterwards, especially now that Sarah’s suggestion for changes is taken so seriously! And if having a few cameo appearances of angel-Jack isn’t enough of a motive, I don’t know what else can be…

“I love you! I’m sorry I didn’t say it fast enough before. I felt it, though. From the beginning. I’ve always, always loved you.” – Sarah Phimm

RATING:

4cupcakes
***I was given a review copy from a LibraryThing Member Giveaway in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

