Tags

, , ,


Well… That was… interesting… Ok, truth be told, I’m really conflicted with this book, and believe you me, if you read it and manage NOT to get conflicted emotions yourself, then I’m gonnna find the nearest flat surface and bang my head on it – twice!

Gwen Hoffman is a historian working for TimeWarp, Inc. A shy mouse since childhood, Gwen is horrified to find out her new duties include not only briefing time-agent Sergeant Michael Garvin for his new mission to protect Jesus Christ from 21st century Iranian hitmen, but also pose as his girlfriend for the sake of the media. Mike terrifies her – his scarred face and dangerous aura proving too much for her bookwormish views – but she comes to find out there’s more to him that what meets the eye. Can she and Mike manage to balance their attraction to each other and survive the assassins going after them and the savior of humanity?

TimeWarp, Inc. is a book a sci-fi fan MUST try out just for the sake of fun. The concept of time-travelling was an intriguing one – as a Whovian, I couldn’t resist the theme – though, admittedly, the whole “let’s save Jesus Christ” thing was not one of the writer’s wisest ideas. It border-lined with certain religious matters, and it often forced the reader to choose a side. (NOTE: I recall mentioning in my Review Policy that I wouldn’t accept titles that had religious themes in them but, like I said, the time-travelling and rescue theme seemed like fun.)
While the book started out in a confusing manner, and the first chapter was a chore to read, once the second chapter kicked and I finally made sense of what I was reading, my interest instantly picked up. The writer sure knows his time-travel stuff. And reality. While the amount of dysfunctional marriages in the book would trouble some, I found it a nice, realistic touch.

Even so, his research on romantic relationships was poor, which was a real let down. A relationship is a partnership. You give and take equally, and, with Gwen, such was not the case. I don’t know if I’ve read too many romances in my life, but it seems like, lately, I’ve been “attracting” main heroines that seriously ruin the whole experience of reading a story for me. And Gwen was definitely one of those heroines. While she started out as an adorably, shy bookworm, her character got worse as the story progressed. Yes, she was not exactly a social butterfly, but it felt like, in many parts, the writer was trying too hard to convince us of that, even if we, the readers, were already painfully aware of it. Another part I hated was how easy she was to judge – and the extreme value she gave to rumors and appearances. Her attitude towards Mike at first showed just that, way before she started berating him all the time because of his personal belief and faith. Not to mention the fact she acted like she had every right to oggle handsome men – but God forbid Mike actually spared a second glance at another woman, or have a lover when he was a centurion two thousand years before she was even born!

The story is amazing in terms of action, humor and history. It certainly doesn’t let a fan of the action and sci-fi genres down. Still, the emotional shallowness of the main heroine and the fact she showed no growth whatsoever – which was a pity, seeing the arsenal of characters Mr. Davis gifted us with was rather impressive without her – took away two very valuable cupcakes from the book.

RATING:

3cupcakes
***I was given a free review copy from the writer, in exchange of an honest review. The opinion stated in this review solely mine and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

