Tags

, ,


DNF… And here I thought I would never find myself in this state, that I could keep going until I had reached the much needed end to this…. I thought something was wrong when I read the blurb, but I’ve found books that lack in that particular section and still were a delight to read. Unfortunately, Out of the Cave was an exception to the general rule “Don’t judge a book by its blurb and/or cover. Read it, you might find you like it after all”.

Kelly Tracer is new to Rivertown High. As a girl who is generally more attractive due to her ethnic looks, she is used to being ignored or leered at by people her age. Still, she manages to find a friend in Diane, and soon, Adam joins their little circle, too. Adam is a Neanderthal, transferred to Kelly’s timeline thanks to TimeWarp, Inc. before time travel became impossible again.

Ok, that was pretty much a short version of what is going on at the beginning of the book. I can’t go on with the whole plot, because it would get as tiring as the book. It’s a real shame that something with time travel, and a boy who has lived in Ice Age, would be so dreadfully boring. Well, it was boring when it wasn’t being ridiculous.

For one, I don’t like sports-themed stories. But I could have overlooked that if the rest of the book didn’t make me regret it every time I decided to get some reading done so that I could get this over with. I mean it!

When the author sent me the synopsis of the book, I sort of cringed when I read that Diane liked Adam who liked Kelly. There’s nothing I hate more than teen drama. But I told myseld I was being overdramatic and should just read it to know for sure before judge it. Well, I did. And it was even worse than I imagined. For several pages, I had to go through the sheer torture of watching helplessly as Diane fawned over Adam, who was head over heels with Kelly, who was too busy to give him the time of the day because she was flirting with Darnell Nixon – who had a girlfriend! See where this is going? Eat your hearts out, teen drama kings and queens, the Rivertown High teens will have you trying to spit their dust out of your mouth!

The main character makes the whole ordeal even worse. Kelly started out just fine. The new girl who is shy and has faced the ugly side of high school. That would be ok if it was just cause of her “new student” state. But it was not. It was because of her looks. And it was announced so many times, I ended up huffing and rolling my eyes to the emphasis being put on this fact. Classic… The typical, beautiful, poor victimized girl – who turns out to give as much importance to appearances as her classmates, oh, that makes my heart cry out in sympathy for her!!!

I don’t understand what it is about Mr. Davis’s main heroines, but they always fan girl over cute and generally attractive guys in the most shallow and unbecoming way. Like him, girl, I’m all for it. Even fall in love with him. But don’t do it like a drooling idiot, for God’s sake! Show some dignity! What was worse, though, this time around, was this: Gwen at least didn’t look like she would be ok fawning over a taken guy. Kelly, on the other hand, was perfectly fine with it! She didn’t care at all, and even considered throwing her book at her best friend, Diane, when she very correctly asked Darnell where his girlfriend was! I will refrain from saying out loud what that makes her, but I guess we all know the term, right?

Another problem was the whole “future” theme. I get it, they are all teens in the future, but that doesn’t make it ok for them to be ignorant of so many important things of world history and terms in language. It doesn’t make them look cool, it makes them look stupid, and had me seriously wondering at the level of their basic education and how efficient it could be…

All in all, I managed to reach the part where Kelly kissed with Darnell – while he was still in a relationship! I dragged myself till Adam’s first game where she was all “Darnell’s so dreamy” and stuff. And that’s where I drew the line. Because even when Diane tried to talk some reason into her bimbo-skull, she still insisted on trying things out with him. Uhh… no, just no. I refuse to keep tormenting myself with this, and, given that the story is told from Kelly’s point of view, I can’t keep forcing this migraine of a book full of a foolish girl’s thoughts on my poor head and time…

RATING:

cartoon-cupcake
***I was given an ARC from the writer in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

