Tags

, , , , , ,


Soul Cutter

I’m starting to feel like a misogynist here. Which is really weird, considering how much I pride myself on my feministic ways. But I guess this is what happens after having read so many books in which the authors feel like it’s their personal mission to make main heroines with THE worst possible personality they can think of – it’s like they’re all in a freaking contest or something!

Élan Duchamps is a seventeen year old that has had it rough early in life, despite her famous mother and her wealthy income. Due to personal fears, she’s become stronger, and she strives to expose all the fake psychics that trick oblivious and trusting people to take their money. Her “mission” is cut short, though, as she receives a call that her mother has been missing while on a shoot for her TV show in Egypt. Now Élan and Ramsey, a handsome and sweet film-crew intern (yes, I’m calling him sweet, because that’s what he was!), have to race against time – and other unseen enemies, to find her mother. But how can two young people with so much NOT in common work together and succeed?

Admittedly, when the book started, I was ecstatic at the thought of a tough heroine, who wanted to expose the frauds for her own personal reasons, to calm HER demons down, instead of the all-too-famous altruism that everyone waves around like a drunk’s funny underwear. But that only lasted until that dreaded phone call. And then, disaster came…

For starters, Élan suddenly took a turn from a powerful young girl, to an annoying version of a tomboyish Barbie. Suddenly, she’s full of sensitivities, and drama. She cares for her mother way too much considering the way she has discarded her – the money and the mansion don’t make things sweeter, at least morally speaking. It would have been fine if she had shown this kind of love from the start, but up until they called her, she was thinking of her mother the same way I used to think “Oh, God, Maths for first period, and then P.E., argh!”.

Then we have the fact she kept trying to rub her toughness and her tomboyish style in everyone’s face. What made me like her at first, became the reason I wanted to bash her face in the nearest wall. Girl, seriously, when you’re REALLY tough you don’t have to flaunt it around. You may not believe this, but… *leans in and whispers* people can actually see it. *gasps* No, I kid you not!

And then, oh, where to start with the way she treated poor Ramsey? The blurb describes him as arrogant and stuff. Pardon me if I couldn’t see this anywhere in the story! In fact, the guy was pure sweetness. Shy and stuck a bit in traditions – the way most people of his origins are – funny and self-sacrificing, he always tried to help, and did his best in attempting to find common ground with Princess I-know-it-all. And what does he get in return? A bossy, selfish brat, who looked at him the way we see a dog born to serve us, who cared only for her problems (I mean, yeah, your mother is in danger, that doesn’t mean a poor girl’s brother getting in jail for something he didn’t do is not of importance – especially when said girl has been tripping over her own feet to help you since the first moment she met you!), and who talked to him like he was a superstitious, old-fashioned idiot that has been living under a rock for most of his life. Never mind the fact she kept getting jealous just because he wastalking with another girl and dared to laugh (!) and she finally decided she was in love with him after nearly a day of knowing him.

(Kristoff, Elsa, where are you?! Are you hearing this?!)

Oh, and she was always right! Of course! Miss Duchamps knows everything, fellows! If you disagree… well, that’s because you’re stupid and superstitious and you don’t know anything. (which would mean I don’t know anything, too, but hey, I’m fine with that, I still get to hate on the brat) Part of her wisdom is this: no man is to be trusted. Oh, yeah… Because getting assaulted by ONE of them means the rest must be just as bad. Of course there’s also the fact that you yourself admitted to behaving like your cute butt was asking for it before the assault, but oh, wait, I forgot. You’re perfect and I should never judge you, what am I thinking, when I haven’t been through half of what has happened to you?

Somewhere in all this mess that was Élan and her moods, there was a story to be told, too. With supernatural cool stuff and action and mystery – but it was all lost, or, well, DROWNED in Élan’s existence, her insta-love-hate, Ramsey who DARED be a gentleman with morals, and the High Lake Palace. Suffice to say, not only was I disappointed to find my expectations thrown away, but I was also enraged – in case it hasn’t already been clear – that I was forced to go through more than 100 pages waiting for the main heroine to grow up. I’m not reading anything else from this author, no matter how harsh I may seem, thank you very much.

RATING:

cartoon-cupcake

***I was given a review copy from a LibraryThing Member Giveaway in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

