Tags

, , , , , ,


Dark Surrender

Awww, who knew that Erica Ridley could write something so adorable? Well… Ok, I admit it, I knew. After having read two exquisite books from her, I swear I can expect romantic and hot and not be disappointed. Every. Single. Time.

Violet Whitechapel is running from the law. Trying desperately to find a place to hide and start her life anew, she stumbles upon a couple of grave stones at an abbey’s yard – and this is where her life changes. Meeting the lord of the abbey, Alistair Waldegrave, the woman decides to strike a deal in order for him to let her stay. She has one month to act as his daughter’s governess. If she makes things work, she may even be free of trouble sooner than she thought. But Violet’s pursuers are not the only ones causing a mess in the quiet life of the abbey. And with her and Alistair getting closer, pasts and feelings will make things harder and more complicated. Can she trust the man not to hurt her? Or will he prove to be just like all the men in her life so far?

Quite different from what I expected, and yet not one to disappoint, Dark Surrenderwas a sweet read that left me all warm and fuzzy inside – and yet, knowing Ridley, there was bound to be some sexual tension. And wonderful, toe-curling love-making. Oh, there was all of that. And then some!

See, in this particular book, the reader gets to wait a long while before they’re given the first TRUE sex scene. That would have been weird in many cases, but with the delicate spot in which both Violet and Alistair were, it was very understandable. And when it finally happened… Oh, I swear I saw stars!

The only problem was with Alistair. I mean, yeah, I get where he’s coming from, but there were times I thought he was the one wearing the skirts. All those hot and cold moments were nice, and worked perfectly for the suspense, but after some time, his attitude really called for someone to tell him to grow a set already.

Violet, I have no problem with. The woman was wonderful, adorable, and made me cry many times thanks to her tremendous patience while people around her kept hurting her, expecting to be forgiven with a simple apology, just because she was way too kind and held no grudges.

All in all, it was a nice story, longer than the others I’ve read from this author, but still a delight to read. Although a bit different from the usual, I admit it was nice to see that Ridley doesn’t have a specific way to write, but embraces variety in her work – and the many plot twists and serious, less humorous than her usual, storytelling proved as much~

RATING:

4cupcakes

***I was given a review copy from a LibraryThing Member Giveaway in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

