Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Soulfire (Nightwing, #1)

“Jessen, if you don’t know it by now, my heart is already yours.” – Lucius Nightwing

If someone had told me that it IS possible to have a good, complete story in only a bit more than 100 pages, with no prequel of said story anywhere to grab on, I would have laughed. Loudly. While holding my stomach and rolling on the floor.

Now this doesn’t mean I haven’t read such books before. I have, but they usually come from authors I have tried before. However, Juliette Cross managed to prove she CAN do it!


Lucius Nightwing and Jessen Cade are two creatures that could and should never be together. Lucius is a Morgon and Jessen is a human, and their families are business rivals. But after a girls-night-out goes wrong in his club after which he saves her, Lucius can’t deny his dragon wants this woman more than anything. And once a dragon finds his mate, there’s nothing anyone can do to keep them apart….

I do love me some hot romance. I also loooove anything to do with dragons, and strong heroines. And Alphas, duh!
So you can imagine my delight when I realized that this book had them all. It has the passion and the sexual tension – God knows how I managed to survive reading it without screaming, like I was the one needing to get laid instead of the characters. But it was all good, because Cross doesn’t disappoint. She gave me sexy scenes that were enough to get my laptop scorched inside-out!

She also gave me two wonderful main characters, full of flaws and deep personalities. Lucius was a delicious hot Alpha male, one that takes no shit from people who try to harm what is his – be it his business, his family, or his woman – and Jess was a strong woman who wasn’t afraid to speak her mind and defend equality between the species no matter how others treated her. She even gave Lucius a run for his money when he was being too stubborn!

The story wasn’t focused only on romance, though. It gave a strong message against the racism towards people who are different from us – the Morgons were half-dragons, yes, but they were superior to humans despite them not abusing that fact. And yet they were treated like crap from humanity, with lies being spread and parents warning their daughters not to get near them! Plus, there was some serious action in there, mainly because Jess was one unfortunate soul who always found herself in the middle of a fight.


I’ve already started the next book, and I can’t wait to get to the good parts! Lorian is my favorite character – what can I say, I’m addicted to the strong silent type – and I’m seriously anxious to see how his love story will work out!

PS: Call me greedy, but I wouldn’t mind if Cross decided to write a book for Slade, or the Rowanflame twins, or even Demetrius (yes, he did attract some of my attention, surprisingly)! In fact, I would welcome it! But that’s just me and my fangirling, hahaha!

RATING:

4cupcakes
***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

