Tags

, , , ,


Imagine being fifteen and having your whole world brought upside down.

Well, this is what happens when Danny Dirks gets to celebrate his fifteenth birthday. His grandfather tells him he’s the heir of Arthur Pendragon, his neighbor’s daughter – who seems to hate him despite his crush on her – is a dragon and his guardian, and there are enemies waiting for just the right moment to kill him and open a portal to the dragon world, with the intention of bringing humanity to its knees. Guess that means less baseball and more training for summer, huh?


I suppose one can say I’m a sucker for dragons and all things Camelot. Which often brings me to the point of choosing to read a book entirely because it might mention one of those things. Now, this can be either good, or bad. Most times the chance is 50-50.

In this book’s case, I believe I got something in the middle. Didn’t quite luck out, but didn’t throw up in my mouth, as well. Yeah, I know, gross, but it really can happen when I get mentally disgusted with a book. Thankfully, Danny’s story wasn’t that much of a disappointment.


It was actually pretty well-thought when it came to the plot. It explained most of the things a reader needed to know in order to get sucked in the story, had many funny and witty lines in dialogue, and tons of magic and fights. It also balanced the suspense factor quite well to keep the pages turning.

No, the real problem lies with the pace. It took like forever to finally get to the part where Danny was taking action, and then, it was like Mr. Mulraney got a stroke and left his foot on the gas, accelerating towards the finish line with dizzying speed – and I’m not talking about the roller coaster dizziness, I’m talking about that feeling you get when you’re in a car that races like the devil himself is after it. I’m not comfortable when my dad or bro drive like that, and I’m not comfortable when a book does the same, either. It makes the story-telling sloppy, and rushes towards a much-too-convenient end. Now, admittedly, Mulraney’s story-telling didn’t get sloppy – thank God! – but the end did seem forced. It didn’t have the same impact it would have had otherwise, and left me wanting.

Hopefully the second book will not develop in the same way…

RATING:

3cupcakes
***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

 

