Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Finn Finnegan (The Adventures of Finn MacCullen, #1)

I loved this! I can’t possibly describe how giddy reading this book made me feel, but I’ll still give t a try!


Finnegan – though, really, call him Finn! – MacCullen can’t wait to start his apprenticeship with Knight Gideon Lir. Being a halfer – which means part mortal – has always been a burden in his life. Now he wants to prove that he’s as much a Tuatha De Dannan as any other pure blooded warrior in his family. However, being an apprentice will prove harder than he thought, with his temper – a legendary Irish trait – clashing almost always with his master’s equally quick one. And with the goblins, their natural enemies, being bolder lately, it’s gonna take a lot of patience and work from both males to survive and be victorious.

I love Celtic myths. I feel like I’ve said it already so many times, but it’s the damn truth! And when you dangle a story with them in it, and action and humor and the Irish accent – good God, yes, please! – in front of me, there’s no doubt about it, I am biting the bait – and being happy as heck about it, too!


Even so, some positive traits cannot keep me interested, unless the book itself is good. And oh, it was more than just good! It was funny to the point of hilarious. Thrilling to the point of shivers. Its pace was perfectly timed, never too slow, but never too quick. It kept me in constant success, mainly because both Finn and Gideon were really unpredictable characters. And it gave me a hell of a time, watching those two fight each other as fervently as they fought the Amandán.

There’s not much more to say except this: I love Finn! I love Gideon! I love their story, and I want to read more about them. And there’s nothing stopping me from adding not only the sequel in my TR list, but the author in my top list as well!

Thank you, Mrs. Karchut!

RATING:

5cupcakes

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

