Tags

, , , ,


The Eighth Square (Fayborn, #2)

My dear, dear Petra… What to do with you and your story, I wonder?

In the second book of the Fayborn series, Petra Godfellow keeps trying to stay away from James Oberon’s lackeys and clutches – but there are more ways for the Throneless King to get what he wants. And there are many people around Petra that are rarely what they really look like…

I keep trying to be awestruck with Petra’s tale, I really do. The pace in this book was definitely better than it was in the first one, and the characters showed a bit more depth. But the fact remains that instead of answering questions, the writer kept creating more! There were too many gaps in the story concerning characters and situations, and I kept having the feeling that I was just being served awesome events without any explanation whatsoever… I don’t want to give you any spoilers, but let’s just say many characters proved to be more than what we had first thought – still, when you don’t FULLY explain that and instantly jump on with the plot, not to mention how cool almost everyone was about the discoveries made, the reader is bound to feel somewhat empty…

RATING:

3cupcakes***I was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

