Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Ghost of a Promise (Phantoms, #1)

“I love you, Ava. I should’ve started this whole crazy thing by saying that. I love you and I missed you like mad. It wasn’t a spell. It was you. I found home.” – Jackson Granger

What an exceptional story! After the disappointment of another paranormal romance I recently read, this one was truly a breath of fresh air!

Ava Trumble needs help to make sure she keeps the Trumble Manor. Her aunt’s will states that she must solve the mystery of the house’s resident ghost. And who better to help her than the TV crew of the famous show called Phantoms? But with its leader, Jackson Granger, being extremely attractive, and a strange force trying to bring them together, can she focus on the things that matter the most? After all, a womanizer like Jackson would never settle down, no matter how appealing a spooky house seems to him…

I’m telling you, this story was freaking awesome! It had more than just one ghost. On one hand, we have Sarah who is playful and likes to play matchmaker. On the other, we have Peter who is out for blood, and puts poor Jackson in great danger more often than not.

And it keeps getting better!

Because, adding to the great mystery of who REALLY killed Sarah, we have a couple of scenes where Ava and Jackson get possessed, and their intense attraction. We’re talking sizzling sexual tension here, people! Those two were so good together, it was unbelievable! One moment they were acting domestic, the next they were arguing and nearly screwing each other through the wall – so to speak.

Lucky Ava, now I’m jealous! I want a Jackson of my own, too!

Still, there was more to this book than mere action, humor and romance. There were some times I nearly wet myself from what happened thanks to the ghosts. Peter, especially, was mighty scary. I had to look behind me and check under my bed FIVE TIMES once – and that was while reading a single paragraph!

Yeah, it was THAT scary. Not to mention that Moran didn’t use any extravagant way to do it, in fact it seemed so natural – I think that’s the main reason it freaked me out so much.

I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

RATING:

5cupcakes

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

