Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Just in Time for a Highlander (Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands, #1)

Never, ever, again! You hear me?! No way!

I thought this would be one more awesome romance with a Highlander hunk who would make me melt. Well, I did get the Highlander hunk with the melting abilities. But really, if it was just him in the story, without the main heroine, I would have been so much happier about it…


Duncan MacHarg is a history geek, who likes battle reenactments and loves his Scottish roots. But a spell gone wrong lands him in Scotland, some centuries in the past, in the arms of Abby Kerr – a chieftess who’s in need of a strong arm, but never a husband. Can they survive each other enough for Duncan to help Abby and then go back home?

Excuse me for a minute, please.


OK! Now! Let’s see…

Which one of you ladies has always dreamed of a guy who would be enough of an Alpha to order us when it mattered, and enough of a marshmallow to be sweet and caring and totally adorkable while courting us? I’m sure I’m not the only that finds this kind of man attractive and of panty-dropping quality, right?

So, if a guy like what I just described – let’s call him, oh, I don’t know, DUNCAN, MAYBE?! – came up to you, would you abuse this man to the point of almost breaking him? Would you treat him in such a way that would turn him into the most insecure being alive, constantly berating himself and questioning his own masculinity? Would you call him less of a man right in front of his face, multiple times, because he had more brains than brawn when it mattered, because he had a good heart that couldn’t just allow him to mindlessly kill someone on command, because he cared and showed honor and feelings more than the rest of the crude d-bags that dare to call themselves part of the male population?

I ask you now, ladies, how many times have we fumed about heroines in historical romance or time travel being treated like scum beneath a lord’s shoe? How many times have we condemned main heroes for treating a woman in a demeaning way, making her question her feminine charms and humiliating her state of intelligence more often than not?

In what kind of universe is it ok and acceptable, then, for a woman to do this to a man? Fictional or not, this is wrong on so many levels! We female readers keep complaining about sexist main heroes, but when it comes down to it, we’re perfectly fine with humiliating a damn wonderful guy just to get off on the idea of being on top of things! THIS is why I’m so against feminism, damn it! Equality, people, is it so much to ask for equality?

If I were Duncan, I would have sold all of Abby’s secrets to the highest bidder. I mean, seriously, it’s not like the woman tried in any way to make him feel loyal to her – other than threatening him, of course. Whenever he tried to help, whenever he dared state his opinion, whenever he so much as changed the tempo of his breath without her permission, the insults would come. The humiliation. The verbal abuse. And then the threats, the constant reminder he was at her mercy, and so on, and so on.


Let me see if I get this correctly. Abby felt distain and all sorts of negative feelings whenever men made her feel less than she believed she deserved. So, as a way to make her feel better, she needed someone to vent, to make them feel even worse than she did. And in comes Duncan. I don’t know how you people call it, I call it inferiority complex.

The reason why I actually managed to finish this book – though I honestly wanted to stop long before I reached page 100? I wanted to see Duncan put her in her place. I didn’t see that, of course – instead, I saw another soul being tortured by Abby’s poor choices, Rosston. In the end, all I could care about was “will Duncan and Rosston become friends after all?”. Yeah, it’s true – I even wished for those two to fall in love with each other and let Abby die a sad and miserable shrew (oh, wait, she was already a sad and miserable shrew, I meant alone).

The only thing I wish for the rest of you who will stick with this series – because I’m so out of here – is that Serafina and Undine, the ones I suspect to be the main heroines for the next books, will not be as bad as Abby.

Remember, ladies, treating them the same way they treat us is NOT the solution, and it only makes us look like bullies. Be their equals – you will see how much better it is this way…

RATING:

cartoon-cupcake
***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

