Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Dangerously Hot (Hostile Operations Team, #4)

“I love you, Kevin MacDonald. And I don’t care who knows it.” – Lucky San Ramos

Seems like, after Billy’s story, this series has taken a turn for the best!

Kevin MacDonald has had his eye on Lucky San Ramos ever since he met her. But due to a rocky past, he thought it best to keep emotional distance and pushed her to his friend, Marco. Now that Marco’s dead and HOT needs Lucky for an op, Kevin is assigned as her safeguard – and neither of them is sure they can keep up the charade of nonchalance any longer, especially given the fact this may very well be their last mission ever…

I have to say, this book took me to a road trip full of feels. I don’t think I was emotionally ready for all the angst and the plot twists, not to mention the danger. The villain the team was after was really a genius, because, with so many pretty smart people working for HOT, with all the secrecy and the caution, the man still kept escaping their hold. It was frustrating and yet cruelly satisfying. Add to that all the personal demons both Lucky AND Kevin had to fight and leave behind at long last, and you get a book that doesn’t know HOW to let you breathe!


The romance was equally wonderful. It was not only because of the obvious chemistry and the sexual tension – ooooh, the sexual tension, my hair was standing straight up every single time Kevin and Lucky were in the same room, and they weren’t doing anything! – but also because of those two as individuals. Kevin wanted to protect Lucky, so he kept pushing her back even after his friend was dead – though I do call dibs on cursing Kev to hell and back because, dude, the old “push my crush to my bestie” is really one annoying trick in romance, argh! Then we had Lucky, who, yes, was feeling guilty about her dead husband and the fact she thought she wasn’t enough for him – to her defense, I still think it wasn’t her fault, one of the men should have ASKED the poor lady what she wanted! But unlike Kevin, Lucky knew it was about time she moved on, and did her best in trying to show the guy, too – honey, try ropes and chains the next time, it might make it work faster.

Which is why, most of the book was spent with me looking at my screen – whenever Kevin and Lucky would just walk away from each other – in a state like this:


The rest of it was something along the lines of this:

Kevin’s story finally confirmed it: Lynn Raye Harris’s HOT series, is a must-read!

“Jesus, Lucky, you rip me inside out, you know that? You always have.” – Kevin MacDonald

RATING:

5cupcakes
***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

