Tags

, , , , , , ,


Dark Tides

DNF at 51 %… Should I bitch about why I left it there, or not?

Hmmm…

Ok, bitching it is.


Caleb Hunter is found on the beach near Meg Donovan’s house, with no knowledge or memory of his life other than his name. Up to the point I stopped, those two were living together, with Meg trying to help Caleb remember, a police officer interested in Meg trying to pass up his stalking as caring for her and her safety, and something supernatural, mixed in with several half-told secrets about Meg’s dead husband and his shady acts.

I have this policy where I give a book a chance to make me feel intrigued with its story. I’ll keep reading until I reach either page 100, or its 50 % point – whichever comes first. Some books don’t get REALLY interesting until you’ve passed a couple of chapters, so I’ve decided to do it this way. I think it’s long enough for a story to get me excited, don’t you?

So, when I reached the halfway mark, and realized this was dragging on and on, with bursts of suspense just to keep you turning the pages, I stopped. I don’t really care for little clues that give me nothing yet are dsiguised as SOMETHING. I didn’t care if Caleb would end up with Meg, either, because all this, their relationship, was so abrupt, and sudden, even if the author tried to pass it up as some kind of inexplicable bond. I didn’t see any chemistry there, and while they supposedly enjoyed their lovemaking, I found it awkward.

Therefore, I told myself it was about time I just stopped. As it is, I’m not even feeling guilty for doing so…

RATING:

cartoon-cupcake

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

