Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Viking Warrior Rising (Viking Warriors, #1)

Alright, I’ll admit it right now: the reason I wanted to read this book was because two of my favorite authors had good things to say about it. Still, we all know my tastes are sometimes weird and not always in sync with people I admire – which is perfectly fine by me, everyone is different.

So I was NOT ready to like the story that much! I wasn’t ready to spam all my friends – and even a book group’s fans – about the amazing plot and how much fun Leif’s gang was. Or to start fangirling about the hunks and calling dibs so early in the series (speaking of which, I call dibs on Harald – the guy is a redhead and has issues, me likey!).

Leif Skarsganger is the leader of a group of immortal warriors – or, as they call him, their King. During an ambush gone wrong, he’s saved by a mortal woman who not only knows to kick some serious butt, but turns out to also be the soulmate his inner berserker chooses. Now Leif must complete the mating bond with Naya Brisbane, else he loses control of his berserker and turns into someone very dangerous for his people and the world in general. But how can he convince Naya to fall in love with him, when the woman herself wants nothing to do with permanent relationships and has a secret agenda of her own?

I love Norse mythology! It’s one of the two that really intrigue me – the Celtic one being the other – and it never fails to make a story pretty awesome. However, if not used correctly, it can backfire and make things terrible for a writer and a reader. I feel like there should be a sign on it saying “Warning: Handle with care!” or something.

Asa Maria Bradley shouldn’t worry about that sign, though, because she practically nailed it!

She took a team of macho and super strong and OTP warriors, and while she made them immortal, she took the liberty of not allowing them to be completely “in” when it came to modern stuff. That, people, is called “being unique”. Then, she added ultra wonderful women in the team, had them all acting like teenagers on adrenaline shots, dashed a bit of respect towards the man they acknowledged as their leader, and BOOM!

Add in a case where there was supposed to be a traitor and everyone was running around trying to guess who it was – oh, Irja, you sneaky thing, your comments didn’t help one bit, but that’s why we love you! – and a new member at the end of the book – can’t wait to read his book, btw – and you’ve got yourself a promising start to an even more promising series.


The action came in buckets, and so did the sarcasm and the humor. Same goes for the suspense, and guessing who might Loki be – I mean, the trickster god could very well impersonate a regular non-important character and we would be none the wiser! The meetings and the group scenes were my favorite parts, though, since they never failed to make me laugh even when the situation was tense.

As for the romantic part, I dare say it was one of the few times I didn’t curse the heroine for trying to make a run for it. Her reasons were valid, and plenty. Not to mention Leif didn’t do a good enough job to convince her – being sexy and awesome in bed doesn’t count, dearie… While both of them were hard-headed and stubborn and didn’t seem to know the meaning of compromise, they still made this even better, by adding to the tension and the suspsense. I wouldn’t have been surprised if it had gone the other way, honestly, by the time I was halfway through the book I realized anything was possible.

Now I’m stuck waiting for the rest of the series – oh, the drama of a bookworm obsessed with a story….

RATING:

4cupcakes
***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

