Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Sunstone's Fire (Cursed in Stone, #1)

 

Not much to say about this one, except that I expected more – and as you can guess got less.

A curse cast on Haylee Clark’s family has caused all women in it to lose the men they loved tragically. As a result, she’s determined to stay away from any man – emotionally – to make sure this doesn’t happen to her. But when a storm lands newbie writer Nate Wilson on her doorstep, the passion between the two will be more than each can handle. Now they REALLY need to get rid of that curse…

The plot as it was left me waiting for so much – even if it’s a short story, there was still a shitload of ways this could have gone so deliciously right! Yet, despite the hotness in some scenes, I was left empty-handed. It’s not that classic line most reviewers say: “The romance was too instant!”. No, this was a short story, of course the romance would start and bloom in ridiculous speed.


The problem was that the book kept telling me instead of showing me. Plus, it left so many gaps in theories and stuff, I ended up caring for that old man , the third wheel, more than I did for the main couple. I’ve said it before, many times, when I stop caring for both the main characters, that’s when a book has lost me completely.

Good thing it was so short. Put me out of my misery fast enough….

RATING:

2cupcakes
***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

