Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


“I love you. I love this baby, and nobody is going to hurt either one of you.” – Audrey Madison

Third book in the series and the story gets even better as it goes. I had taken a break from the Deans – shame on me, I know – but now I’m back, stronger than ever! And Nate’s book was just what I needed to get back on track – STAT!

Now, we all know that something went wrong – after being so right – between Nathan Dean and Audrey Madison, the daughter of that bitch of a scientist we all want to see skewered (or maybe that’s just me *shurgs* ). As we saw in the previous book, Audrey ended up pregnant with Nate’s kid. So of course our dear sarcastic Dean decides to go after her – that, and the fact the brothers don’t have much time left and he needs intel on the killing chips. Old sparks – as expected – fly, and the lovers-turned-enemies will find it much too hard to concentrate not only on their respective missions, but also on keeping their broken hearts intact.

I’m not gonna rant about how much I want Audrey’s mother dead – because I obviously do. The woman can go jump off a cliff to land on a minefield while attached to C4 packets and I’ll still won’t be satisfied with the outcome. Noooo, instead I’m gonna focus on Audrey herself.


Audrey was a serious badass as a heroine. The kind of badass I’ve come to expect from this series, and yet quite different. She wasn’t the quiet force Laney was, nor was she the loud tomboy Josie proved to be. No, Audrey was much more mature than those two, seeing as she was forced to actively participate in her mother’s experiments without her consent (of-freaking-course), and she was an active member of a team trying to bring the commander down. She was not only an academic genius, but she also possessed street smarts and knew how to defend herself just fine. Maybe maternity made her that way, but, like I said, she was a much more mature deal to what we’ve been shown before.

And that made her perfect for Nate.

Speaking of Nate, it was about time he got his sort of HEA. I’ve lost count of the times the poor guy had to act as a brother AND a mother for his brothers, not to mention how he, miraculously, always ended up sacrificing himself so that the younger ones would experience SOME sort of happy childhood. Nate was so used to putting others first, a fact that not anyone can see when he puts his shields up and acts like a suspicious jackass. Having Audrey by his side, a woman who made him her priority, was much appreciated by yours truly – I felt like justice had finally been delivered or something.


Now I’m itching to see how Jory’s book will go. I’ve aready started it and I’m seriously biting my nails clean off with all the stuff going on!

“I’ve loved you since the first second you smiled at me on that dismal training field so long ago.” – Nathan Dean

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

RATING:

5cupcakes

