Tags

, , , , , , ,


“I love you, Dylan. It doesn’t matter where I live as long as I’m with you.” – Lane Bishop

Before I start, a little note to self: TRAVEL TO ALASKA AT LEAST ONCE IN YOUR LIFE!!!! And all because Kat Martin made it one of my priorities with her book!

Dylan Brodie is a single father who is trying to raise a daughter that refuses to speak and build a tourist fishing lodge in Alaska. To make sure the lodge is presentable enough, he hires interior designer Lane Bishop. However, the two of them feel more than simple attraction between them – more than they should feel, given they’re supposed to work together on this project. But they can’t deny their needs for long, and soon, their hearts start getting involved, too. Still, the fact they’re going to go their different ways after the summer is over turns out to be the least of their worries – someone dangerous is lurking in the shadows, someone hell bent to make things more than tough for the couple…

Seriously, I have to say it again, I would move to Alaska in an instant after this book. I’m not much of a nature enthusiast, but I couldn’t help but SEE the beauty of it all through Martin’s words. The scenery, the people, everything. But enough of that – let’s move on to more pressing matters, yeah?

Dylan and Lane… Hmm, where to begin? I admit they were not such an original fiction couple – I’ve read similar situations like the ones they had to go through before. But there was just something about them, that made the whole thing very charming indeed.

It could be the fact that their story combined not only a romance full of the angst and impending doom with a timer and deadline set on it, but also the very real danger of a shady figure who may have started as somewhat of a minor danger, but later evolved into a full blown threat. The build up and the mounting tension sure did a fine job of making us divide our attention between what we wanted to happen with Dylan and Lane, and the fact that just around the corner, someone was watching, plotting, and getting in their way. And we didn’t even know who that was until the very last minute!

Apart from that, there was also the sexual tension between them that made the reader want to explode from the anticipation. And when they finally got it on, GOD, it was such a relief! Granted, they both knew it had to stay on the carnal side, but they just couldn’t help themselves – duh! And when they started admitting to themselves that yes, they were in love, but not to each other, they were so adorable! Like teenagers being entirely too green at this yet eager to find out.

I can’t wait to read Nick’s story – hot damn, I personally believe I’m gonna enjoy his book even more! And of course Rafe – we need more of that guy, honestly!

“I don’t want you to leave. I don’t ever want you to leave. I love you, Lane. It’s killing me to let you go.” – Dylan Brodie

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

RATING:

4cupcakes

