Tags

, , , , , , ,


Holy sweet pinata of Santa Maria!!!

*stops to take a breath*

OK, OK, that was one heck of an opening, but hot dang, was this book a shock to my senses or what?!

Dr. Simon Bell, one of the finest in London, visits an acquaintance of his to ask for a cure – his sweet wife Sophie is slowly dying from cancer. Said acquaintance, an apothecary going by the name Gaelan Erceldoune, is a bitter widower who didn’t have the chance to save his own wife, one year prior to Simon’s visit. He claims he has a cure, but it results in Sophie’s death. Simon, not willing to live without his wife, downs the potion he gave her – only to become immortal. Now, the two of them must find a way to reverse his immortality so that he can finally die in peace.

Admittedly, this was only HALF of what I wished to write as a summary for the book, but I’m trying my damnest here to not give away any more spoilers, so bear with me. As a matter of fact, I don’t think I can say a lot of things I want to say without treading in dangerous spoiler waters, so I’ll keep it at a minimum.


Let’s start with what didn’t work for me in the story: hmmm, NOTHING! Everything was absolutely perfect. The timing, the pace, the plot twists, the characters. Even if I hated some of them – I’m looking at you, Simon! – I couldn’t help but be sucked in what was going on and keep turning the pages to see the rest of it. Some of the twists were predictable (YASSSS, MY SHIP WAS CONFIRMED!!!), some others not, yet the book still managed to keep me intrigued to the very end – dear Mrs. Barnett, that last scene freaked me out and I almost started crying until I realized what really took place, my poor heart nearly stopped!

There’s only one last thing left to be said: go read it! ASAP! It may confuse you at first, but you’ll learn to love it before the second chapter is even done. Besides, if that, too, fails, there’s always Gaelan – the man was a delicious shot of bitter and cynical awesomeness, and you can’t help but love him to death!

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

RATING:

5cupcakes

