Tags

, , , , , , , ,


29617954

Never let it be said that I don’t try new things. I may not like half of them, but heck, I still try them.

One of those things are books I wouldn’t normally read. Be it their genre, their covers, something in the plot… They’re just not my usual one-clicker. Still, that doesn’t mean I’ll come to love all of them.

Case in point, The Orphan Fleet. A fun, short, and entertaining book, but clearly not one for my tastes. It focused on Jiaire, an orphan living at a place called the Mountain, along with others like him. One day, a military guy tries to take one of them, claiming she’s his daighter, and the Orphans wage war on the man with extremely dramatic results.

Sounds exciting, right? Well, it certainly is, but not to the extent I expected it to.

The actions seemed rushed at some points, or too lengthy at others. The mock fights between the masked performers took way too long in the book, and nearly bored me to tears. Jiaire’s inner musings fell in that category, too. In most of the story, I felt like I was being told what was going on – not shown.

All in all, this was a… well, you can call it an experience, all right, but not one I might ever repeat. Jiaire and his friends can stay up there in the Mountain, alla happy and stuff, or they can grow up and finally leave, but I can’t be bothered by any of this…

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

RATING:

2cupcakes

