Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


33596075

“I want everything with you, Valetta. I love you. I never thought I could say that to another woman.” – Samson Lee

Aaaaand, thank God for sequels, so that characters have the potential to make up for the lousy first impression they may have made on us!

In the second book of the Arctic Brotherhood series, Samson, the tall brute who claimed he was so much better than a woman, ends up trying to locate the daughter of a retired fellow Brotherhood member. But Valetta, the daughter in question, is not just any woman. She’s had her eye on Samson for a long time, but due to his past, he couldn’t accept her feelings. Now, thrown together in a war between werewolf tribes and a prophecy warning the wolves of the Shadow Born, they must learn to work side by side, protect each other, and maybe, this time around, finally accept that they were meant to be with one another.

I’m not gonna lie, Samson was an awesome character in the first book, but he still made me twitch every time he would doubt Jenny because of her gender. Now, faced with another Alpha female, he had to learn to control his tongue, and his urges to take lead – although we all know he fails horribly at that. However, I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised with how things turned out. More than that, I was sad when I read what had taken place in the past, and could at some degree understand his attitude.

Valetta on the other hand was easy to like. Right from the start, I sympathized with her and the multiple obstacles she had to overcome in her personal life – and as a leader to her team. I was at the edge of my seat when she was kidnapped, and freaked out like no tomorrow when she was presented with a choice that didn’t look the least positive. Not to mention I got mad when the truth behind the prophecy was out – even if I suspected something like that at some point.

The pace was top speed as usual, and the love scenes mighty intense. The dialogues were also something I enjoyed – the banters between Samson and Valetta, or when all of the Brotherhood was together, were the highlight of the story. I really can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

“I’ve always loved you. I just never hoped you could feel the same way, especially once you found out I was Shadow Born.” – Valetta Rickard

***I was given an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinion stated in this review is solely mine, and no compensation was given or taken to alter it.***

RATING:

5cupcakes

